The Easy Life…

Just Doesn’t Exist, for most people.

And as much as I LOVE being a Stay At Home Mom…life still gets crazy, busy, and messy.

(Granted, I also have a *few* extra rug-rats running around my house most days.)

In this season of my Family’s Life, we have at least 2 nights out of the week that we are away from home.  We have small groups on Tuesdays and church on Wednesdays.  That doesn’t include the “extra” things that get scheduled in from time to time.  You know, things like dinner with friends, a birthday party, an extra opportunity to serve somewhere in the community, DATE NIGHTS!, errands, and the list goes on and on!  And as Goose gets older, I’m sure we’ll add in at least one night of some kind of practice or game or whatever she decides to get involved in.

So…I’ve found a few little “tricks” here and there that tend to work for me and thought I would share them with you!

  • First of all, one word: Flylady.  Now, here’s the thing.  I don’t follow her *religiously*.  I’ve familiarized myself with her system and I do what I can, when I remember.  Here are the few things I do fairly regularly that TRULY helps me get through each day without losing it:  Make my bed (as soon as I get out of it!), Lay out my clothes the night before (especially work-out clothes), Keep the kitchen sink empty(for the most part), Try to wear shoes throughout the day (i’m new to this), Do at least one load of laundry a day (for the most part), Teaching the kids to clean up after themselves as they play (I’ve really started cracking down on this more recently-I think they think I’m nuts. But…Goose is finally catching on to it! haha), and Preparing the coffee pot for the next morning’s coffee.  And most importantly…forget about perfection.  None of us are perfect, and you’ll only frustrate yourself trying to be.
  • I like to make homemade treats and foods.  And typically I find a good, reliable, basic recipe and make it quite often.  A few of my favorites include: Cinnamon Apple Oatmeal Pancakes, Drop Biscuits, Oatmeal Bars, Sweet Potato Muffins, and Cinnamon Honey Roasted Chickpeas.  So, I’ll take a moment while making a batch and measure out an extra “set” of the dry ingredients into an large ziploc bag to keep in the freezer for later use.  (just be sure to label the bag appropriately so that you don’t forget what is in it!)
  •  Eating Healthy and Exercising!   Believe it or not, this has made a HUGE difference in the way I’m able to “get through” each day and how much I’m able to accomplish.   It’s been a bit of a journey, but in the past 8 months I’ve been making some pretty big changes in my diet and activity levels.  This might just be a whole post in itself, so I won’t go into all the details…But just know that HOW MUCH and WHAT you eat, and how active you are, will effect your energy in a HUGE way!
  • Keep things in perspective.  Speaking of perspective…where does your’s come from?  What’s important to you?  How do you keep that in mind?  Who can you rely on, no matter what?  Where (or in what) do you find your worth?  What is the “bigger picture” in life?  Figure these things out…(if your unsure, I can suggest a direction to look) and then remind yourself of them often!  As I say to Goose quite often lately, “FOCUS!  FOCUS!  FOCUS!”

One thought on “The Easy Life…

  1. Pingback: Health and Fitness beginnings… « Keri Quite Contrary

Leave a Reply

